A Bit Creative’s Photography and Christmas Gag Gifts

How did you get started on Etsy?The friends from my birth board group found some cute knit baby hats on Etsy. I quickly realized I’d finally found an affordable way to sell my art.

What was your inspiration for your shop?
I love the outdoors. I was born and raised in Colorado and when I was young we’d go on camping, hiking and fishing trips. I almost always have a camera with me so that when I feel that peaceful calm I can capture it and share it.

What’s your favorite shop item and why?
Autumn Aspen Canopy is my favorite picture. I have always loved Aspen trees and Autumn is my favorite time of year. Aspens are one of the only trees that can turn yellow, orange or red depending on the altitude where they are growing – the higher the altitude the redder they get. Love it!

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
I chase my baby around and invent new games to play with him. We have a blast! His name is Ayden and he turned one this past October.

What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
Chocolate Chip Chocolate of course!

What pushes you to want to create something?
My husband and I are in our first house, and there are many blank walls that need pictures to complete the rooms. It’s like taking a mini vacation to capture the type of landscape and colors needed to complete the decor of the room. We’re currently working on “The Man Cave” room which is about hunting, camping and fishing.

What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid? As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop and watch?
I had so many favorites growing up. I was watching old re-runs of Scooby Doo and The Flintstones. I don’t like the new Scooby Doo, but I watch The Smurfs, Inspector Gadget and Casper currently via Netflix.

What’s your fantasy job?
Working for Pixar or a similar company starting as a modeling and texture artist and working my way up to being a concept artist.

Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?
World of Warcraft – which I haven’t been able to play since the morning sickness stage of my pregnancy.

List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
-Pepsi
-Taco Bell
-video games

Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?
Terry Brooks is one of my favorites, but I almost like all Fantasy novel series books. I use anything handy to mark my place, but typically I finish reading the book the same day I start to read it… I haven’t read any books since Ayden was born though 😉

If money was no object and you can live wherever you want….where would that be?
I would live in Golden, Colorado. It’s a gorgeous place in the Foothills of the Rocky Mountains. The homes are equally spectacular and it’s in the Jefferson County School District.

What is your best childhood memory?
Late one night while camping a Mountain Lion AND a Silver Fox approached our campfire. There was a full moon and I remember being confused at what I was seeing. The adults were VERY clear that no one move. Once the curiosity of the animals was satisfied they simply walked away… it was so surreal!

Visit A Bit Creative on Etsy for more great gift ideas.  She can also be found on Facebook and Twitter.  For more wonderful handmade gifts please keyword search DTeam on Etsy.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

