Soaps and Scents with Smiling Otis Studios

How’d you get started on Etsy?
My wife and I were getting frustrated with throwing out all of the baby food jars that we collected daily and one day we were shopping around hobby lobby and saw a candle making kit. The both of us have always liked candles so my wife says hey why not make them in baby food jars. We made a few for our own use and one day someone mentioned that we had a good idea and should sell them. Hence finding Etsy. After that my imagination went crazy and I now have what you see in my shop today.

What was your inspiration for your shop?
Our daughter and her food jars, after I got started I wanted to make great affordable things that really smelled good and made you feel good, Hence the soaps, Bath teas and other things. Most of my hobbies and things revolve around my shop although at time I get way ahead of myself and end up spending hundreds of hours trying to fix what I had done too quickly

What’s your favorite shop item and why?
My favorite shop item is whatever I am making that day or week. For example we have this idea to make a spoof jersey shore set of scents which we just got. Like Gym, Tan, Laundry. I am making the candles that smell like all three. Well for the gym we are doing a men’s cologne since I don’t think anyone wants to really smell the gym.

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
Beer and Football.

What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
I actually like muffins 🙂 But as far as cupcakes go I would say a simple chocolate chip one would work

What pushes you to want to create something?
I get super excited when I make something. I start to think of how much someone else would enjoy the smells I have going on in my house or how relaxed a person would be when they use a soap. So I guess what pushes me is the excitement of someone trying my products and getting as much enjoyment as I do in making them

What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid? As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?

I really like the Wyle E Coyote and the Road Runner. I have tried to watch them since then and haven’t really had the attachment I had to them. I always felt the coyote was getting a bad rep, and he never seemed to order the right tools, Then again there was only Acme in their world

What’s your fantasy job?
I’m doing it right now; I get to be a stay at home dad, and occasional seller of a handmade product. I had been in the military for 11 years which also was a great job, but as many military families know that the servicemember does not get to see his family very often. So this chance for me to mold and raise my daughter is great, although the wife really does not appreciate that she can burp, and blames other people for when she passes gas, lol.

Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?
1/2 hour of complete quiet time everyday during naptime.

List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
1. Cooking
2. My wife, Not really an obsession but more of an easier way to do things 🙂
3. Organizing, I can’t stand when something is not where it should be.
I’m not really sure I answered these right.

Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?

I read cookbooks and gardening books Lol, I fold the page or just put whatever is nearby in where I left off

If money was no object and you can live wherever you want….where would that be?
We would move back to Seattle, WA, That city has everything we love; you can do everything from go to micro brews all day, to a day in the wine valley or an awesome concert at the gorge. Or if you wanted you could spend half the day on the beach, then hike the woods and just have a great day. I love that place.

What is your best childhood memory?
Camping with my dad in Colorado, like real camping that you see on survival shows now a days.

You can find more great items from Smiling Otis Studios in his Etsy Shop and be sure to follow him on Facebook to get updates on new products.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I didn't get a chance to say thank you for such a great job. Thank you so much

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

