Upcycling with The Lime Grasshopper

How’d you get started on Etsy?
I discovered Etsy as a shopper. I taught myself to crochet and decided to give selling a try.

What was your inspiration for your shop?
I am a big proponent of recycling and repurposing. As long as we all try, it helps preserve our Earth. When I discovered plarn, I knew I had a medium for crochet that made me feel good about trying to save the planet.

How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
I LOVE to kayak!!! Living on the ocean gives me the opportunity to kayak and enjoy the water. Winter almost hurts because I can’t get in the boat.

What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
Red Velvet with Cream Cheese icing

What pushes you to want to create something?
The hope to hone my creative side into something that can follow me wherever I move and help me quit my day job (oh what a dream).
What’s your fantasy job?
Being an artist. I would love to design and build furniture.

List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
Kayaking
Sitting on the beach
Laying in a hammock
(did I mention I live by the ocean? We have a different pace of life out here, lol).

Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?
Right now, I am digging Guillermo del Toro (the guy who directed Pan’s Labyrinth). No bookmarks or such for me, since I have an eReader (and LOVE IT).

If money was no object and you can live wherever you want….where would that be?
OMG, so easy! Key West, for my US home, and somewhere near Vitoria Brasil for my South American home 🙂

What is your best childhood memory?
Trolling (a type of fishing) for Spanish Mackerel with my Dad in our boat right off the beach here. Not that I wanted to eat the fish, but I loved being in the boat, by the beach, with my dad, and reeling the fish in. Good good times.

You can find more of The Lime Grasshopper’s upcycled jewelry and goods in her Etsy shop. She can also be found on Facebook.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

