NYer, Cat Lover, Photographer: Deborah Julian

How’d you get started on Etsy?
I’d been making cards for family and friends for years. Iheard about Etsy on The Today Show a couple of years ago. I finally started myown shop this year.
What was your inspiration for your shop?
A lot of my images involve my cats so the shop was createdwith my whimsical cat designs in mind. I have recently decided to put some ofmy more serious photos in the shop too.What’s your favorite shop item and why?

I think the Handle With Care image is my favorite. My catGeorge is a natural born clown and makes me laugh a dozen times a day.
How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
At home I unwind by playing with the cats, or by watching an old movie. I loveto cook but don’t seem to have much time for that anymore. I also lovewandering around New York City, usually with my camera.What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?

Chocolate with chocolate frosting; I love anythingchocolate!What pushes you to want to create something?

As a photographer, I’m an observer by nature. I love to takea photo or to create a cat image that captures something interesting I haveseen.What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid? As an adult, if you stumble upon it whilechannel surfing now would you stop & watch?

I loved Bugs Bunny and still do. I’m a sucker forsmart-alecky animals. I guess that’s why I live with cats.
What’s your fantasy job?
Taking photos for a travel magazine so I could go everywhere in the world!Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?

I can’t think of one.List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
Travel, Art, Animals

Do you have a favorite author?

When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page,or grab anything handy to mark your place? I love Anne Tyler and eagerly waitfor her to come out with a new novel which I then devour. I buy lovelybookmarks but usually can’t find them when I’m reading so I pick up the nearestpiece of paper to use as a bookmark. Unfortunately, this problem of not findingwhat I need does not just apply to bookmarks,
If money was no object and you can live wherever youwant….where would that be?
Italy. I’m 1/2 Italian and have two good friends living inItaly. My husband and I have actually fantasize about retiring there. I’mstudying Italian just in case!
What is your best childhood memory?
My mother’s two older sisters who never married lived withus when I was a child. My wonderful aunt Stella was fairly shy but she lovedtaking my sister and me places. I think doing things for us gave her courage todo things she wanted to do. She took me on a few trips when I was veryyoung–to New York City, to Washington DC and a few other places. I think sheinspired my love of travel. When my nieces were kids I tried to do the same forthem.
For more information and gift ideas, Deborah Julian can be found in her Etsy shop. She can also be found on Zazzle where you can customize accessories with  her prints and on Facebook.
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

