NannysRose Vintage Heirlooms and More

How’d you get started on Etsy?
I’ve always liked to shop and I’ve always liked to make things, but in early 2010 I “stepped it up a notch.” I had a very traumatic personal experience and began crafting as therapy. I’d find myself spending every weekend at Michaels. At the same time, I made a friend who was an expert craftsman and collector. He was always telling me about his success at selling things he found and restored. He showed me his awesome home and said “this is my stock market.”
I looked around at some of the things I owned and some of my creations and thought maybe I should give selling things a try. I told another friend “my items are almost good enough to sell on Etsy.” My friend said “Your items ARE good enough to sell on Etsy.”
So, I thought “I’m doing this anyway, why not try to sell it?”
What was your inspiration for your shop?
My great-grandmother. Her name was Grace but we all called her Nanny.
I only met her a couple of times but I was in awe of her collection of – well – everything. She was a woman of limited means but she managed to put together an amazing assortment of beautiful and eclectic items. What an amazing home she had. I wanted to be just like her.
What’s your favorite shop item and why?
Picking a favorite shop item is like picking a favorite child. I don’t do that.
I will say that I really enjoy painting mirrors and will never stop. My mirrors are also my most popular items.
How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
I shop. I drink beer. I watch really great old TV shows and imagine myself as the main character.
What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
I’m easy to please. I like all cupcakes, provided they’re chocolate with chocolate frosting.
What pushes you to want to create something?
I’m big on visualizing. I “see” things not as they are, but as they could be. When I was a child, I always imagined I could draw like Leonardo Da Vinci. My drawings weren’t Da Vinci quality, but they were pretty darn good for a little kid. These days I still have these crazy visions of making amazing things. Sometimes things don’t turn out according to plan, but they usually look pleasant enough to make me smile.
What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid? As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?
I never liked cartoons. I liked Perry Mason reruns.
What’s your fantasy job?
My fantasy job is to be a full-time prosecutor.
I want to bring peace and justice to my community.
Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?
My guilty pleasures are no secret. I’m very open about my affection for shopping, gambling and beer.
List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
– Shopping
– Gambling
– Beer.
Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?
Anne Rule, the true-crime writer. She’s amazing and I want to be just like her, if I ever grow up.
I grab whatever I can find to hold the place in the book. Sometimes – gasp – I even just place the book down flat, open to the last page I was reading.
If money was no object and you can live wherever you want….where would that be?
I’d live right here in the beautiful Bay Area California on a huge lot of land.
I’d have several houses on the land. I’d live in the main house and my starving artist friends would live in the smaller houses. We’d have a special house to host parties. We’d call it “Anthony’s House,” in honor of my late friend Anthony. My friends and I would gather there regularly make toasts in Anthony’s honor.
What is your best childhood memory?
The annual July 4 parade and picnic in my old neighborhood, Green Meadow. It was just great old-fashioned heartwarming innocent fun.

You can find more vintage items in her Etsy shop.

For more great items keyword search DTeam on Etsy.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

