Reading with the DTeam

Lately we have had a lot of rainy days. On days like that I want to sit in hubby’s recliner and just read. That doesn’t do much for the state of my house or laundry basket but it sure makes me happy! I am not the only one on the DTeam who enjoys a good book and some of my teammates have shared some of their faves. Read on and you might find a new favorite!

Do Bats Eat Cats likes The Uglies series by Scott Westerfield. She sums it up as “An evil postapocalyptic government gives each citizen an operation when they turn 16, to make them conventionally beautiful. A group of teens rebel after discovering that the seemingly innocent operation has unintended consequences (of COURSE it does!).”

She also recommends Matched by Aly Condie saying, “An evil postapocalyptic government, called the Society, controls every aspect of its citizens’ lives, from what they eat to their culture (art has been whittled down to the Hundred Poems, the Hundred Paintings, etc. with all others from the past destroyed, because how can you appreciate art if there is “too much choice?”) to whom they are “matched” with as life partners. One teenage girl begins to question the system when she discovers the Society may have actually made a mistake with her Match.”

Do Bats Eat Cats has lots of awesome pieces in her shop. The key chain shown here made me think that the ring could be removed and the chain part made longer and now you have a fabulous and unique bookmark!

Black Sheep Beadery shares her love of The Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston. She says it is “set in England” and “the story goes back and forth between the present and the past and centers around an immortal witch and her evil nemesis.”
She also likes Blood Red Road by Moira Young. She was lucky enough to get an advance reader’s copy from the publisher before the book was available! She describes it as “sort of a coming of age story of a young girl and her younger sister who search for, and eventually find, their kidnapped brother”. The period it is set in is “sometime in the
future after us present day humans have managed to ruin the world.
The cool bracelet shown from Black Sheep Beadery made me think that she is so talented I bet she could use those same materials and design a really cool bookmark!
I am a huge fan of Sex and the City so was thrilled when the The Carrie Diaries series by Candace Bushnell came out. The books are found in the young adult section but I still loved reading about Carrie’s life before she lived in New York City. The first is called The Carrie Diaries and Carrie is still living at home as she is a senior in high school. I just finished the second book titled Summer and the City and it starts off on Carrie’s first day in Manhattan. This one was my fave of the two as this book reveals how she meets Samantha, Miranda, and Charlotte. I am hoping there will be a third in this series! The bookmark to the left is a tribute to Carrie and can be found in my shop, SassyBelleWares.
I also am a huge fan of every book written by Adriana Trigiani. Her Big Stone Gap series is beyond fabulous. When I read the last one I was sad because I felt like I was saying goodbye to friends I’d had forever. Her writing is such that you feel like you are in every setting with her characters. I could envision what each character looked like and what their voice sounded like. I could picture exactly what every setting looked like….the houses, the pharmacy, the town, etc. Her Valentine Series, Very Valentine (book 1) and Brava Valentine (book 2), and her stand alone books, Lucia Lucia, Rococo, and The Queen of the Big Time are also fabulous.

I just finished reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett and cannot say enough about how amazing it is. I could not put it down and never wanted it to end! It is set in Jackson, Mississippi during the early 1960s and centers around three women, Aibileen and Minny who are black and Skeeter who is white. Aibileen and Minny are from a different world than Skeeter but what is in their hearts is the same. The three of them secretly work together on a project that holds serious risks for all of them but their desire and hope for change toward a better day eclipses the risks. The writer does such an amazing job of portraying the characters that I could not only picture each one but I could hear them speak. Her writing causes you to feel emotion for the characters. I loved Aibileen, Minny, Skeeter, and Celia and was always cheering for them, wanting to hug them, and wanting to protect and help them. I despised Hilly and Elizabeth with such a ferocity I always found myself wanting to punch them in the face! A movie version of this book will be out in August of this year and I hope it is as good as the book.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thanks, you guys! I just added a few of these to my Amazon Kindle wishlist!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks.. Off to Google The Help now.. Sounds Soooooo good!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Tam, it is…I would have sent it to you but my MIL has it…if she gives it back I will let you know!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

