Feisty Redhead interview

How’d you get started on Etsy?

I’ve been a buyer on Etsy for several years now and always wanted to open my own shop. I became friends with someone who had a shop and she told me to take the plunge.
What was your inspiration for your shop?

When I started listing items, I was really conscious of including vibrant colors. I also want to make things that I would wear and give customers options for customization. Customization is one of my favorite things about Etsy.

What’s your favorite shop item and why?

It changes depending on the season. In winter, I love the wool-cashmere blend cowls. I used this yarn last year and fell in love with it. I like the way the yarn slides through my hands as I’m knitting. Butter!

In summer, I love the polka dot placemats. They make me think of picnic tables, backyards, and the pretty summers in Kentucky where I grew up.
How do you unwind when you’re not creating?

On weekends, I get together with friends and play music. It always makes me feel happy, even if I still make squeaking sounds when I play my fiddle. I also watch a lot of movies on Netflix!

What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?

Peanut butter cake and frosting with the jelly squirted into the middle. No contest.

What pushes you to want to create something?

Stress! I can’t tell you how many times I feel stressed at my day job and can immediately feel better by thinking about what I want to create when I get home.

What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid?

As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch? I loved watching Rugrats on Nickelodeon. I felt a connection to Chuckie because of his red hair and long list of phobias. (Guy on the oatmeal box? Totally scary.) I would definitely watch Rugrats today!

What’s your fantasy job?

Any job that involves crafts!
Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?

I like reading biographies. Right now I’m reading the Keith Richards biography. (It’s so good!) I received a Kindle for Christmas and have been using that for books that I don’t intend to keep around, so that eliminates any need for a bookmark!

If money was no object and you can live wherever you want, where would that be?

If money were no object, I’d stay right here in New York! Hopefully I’d have a bigger apartment, though…

What is your best childhood memory?
On Sunday nights, my family had a tradition of eating hamburgers and milkshakes in the living room picnic-style while we watched America’s Funniest Home Videos. Every time I have a burger and shake, I think about those Sundays.

You can find TheFeistyRedhead in her Etsy shop,  Facebook, and her blog. Find other great shops by keyword searching DTeam on Etsy.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I loved the rugrats too but not when I was little. I can't believe you play the fiddle! lolgreat interview!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

