HauteCards Provides Custom Printing

How’d you get started on Etsy?
I knew about Etsy a long time ago, when I bought a cover for my laptop from an Australian seller; but I didn’t get bit by the Seller’s bug until last year when I decided to make illustrations for greeting cards.

What was your inspiration for your shop?

Mainly my love for cartoon and illustrated characters, specially from this kawaii trend that’s rocking the design world. My favorite icon is Hello Kitty. I also enjoy very much creating gifts and personalized cards for family and friends, so I thought it would be a good idea to start with greeting products.

What’s your favorite shop item and why?

It’s hard, because I think each character has its charm… But if I have to pick I think the “Dude you totally rock” card, it’s just so perfect for many occasions and has a really positive energy to it. I bet it draws a smile very time someone receives it.

 How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
 Lately it’s hard to unwind with a little boy running around the house, but when I do, I like to play video games. I used to be a hardcore gamer (been playing since Nintendo came out) but now I just limit myself to Facebook games and Apple apps.
What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?

I’m very traditional with my sweets, but the best one I have tried is Nutella frosting chocolate cupcake.

What pushes you to want to create something?
I love a challenge. If there’s a project that is going to challenge my skills as an illustrator or designer, I’m in. I just try to get some time for it, and start doing it.

What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid. As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?
Tom & Jerry. I now watch it with my little boy, and it’s still entertaining to me.

What’s your fantasy job?
I can’t lie, I always wanted to work for Disney. I have been drawing since I was very little, but by the time I was 13, I started practicing and creating new characters in the Disney style of drawing. But even if it wasn’t there.. To work in an animation powerhouse would be a great deal to me.

Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?
The latest one is Nap time.. I take naps when my son takes his.. Is secret because Hubby thinks I’m working or doing some chores, shhhh! Don’t tell!

List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
– Ovaltine chocolate spread: it is not made in USA, but back where I grew up (Venezuela) and I can’t help but ask anybody that comes to visit to bring me some.
– Buying markers: I think I have the biggest collection of markers a 30 yr old is allowed to have.. From Crayola brand to Paint Markers
– Hello Kitty: if something I want is available in kitty, I’m definitely getting it!
Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?
My all time favorite has been Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Grab anything handy 🙂
If money was no object and you can live wherever you want….where would that be?

I would live in a villa in Florence.. I love Italy, the culture, the language and the history.

What is your best childhood memory?

Well, I think I had a really cool childhood, so there’s plenty to pick.. But I would have to say the best moments were on Christmas Day, even after we knew (my brother and me) we enjoyed opening the gifts to find out if Santa had brought us what we had wish for… And he always did.. Never missed 🙂

You can find Haute Cards on Etsy. She is also on Facebook and Twitter. For other great shops please see our shops and stores page, the tab is at the top of this page.
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

