Reading with The DTeam

Memorial Day is almost here and after the true and most important meaning of the day in which we honor those that passed while serving our country, barbeques, picnics, a day at the beach, and other long weekend activities
come to mind. A day at the beach, lounging by the pool, relaxing at the park or any other place you can think of often calls for a good book! The DTeam doesn’t spend all their time creating fabulous pieces. The Dteam also loves to read and has shared some of their favorite books. Read on for a wide variety of great reads!

The Lime Grashopper recommends The Strain & The Fall (book 1 and book 2 of a series of 3) by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan saying the stories are “a different take on vampires, being it is a spreadable disease and not glamorous at all. I am awaiting book 3, due out October.”

The Lime Grasshopper has a great market bag that is perfect for carrying your book and other necessities.

Pinky Crafts says, “I have a thing for British chick lit, and there are quite a few funny British authors that I’m in love with.” One of Pinky’s faves is Jemima J by Jane Green. Pinky describes it as “A lighthearted book about an overweight gal who lies about her looks in an internet dating ad, and then must turn into that person in order to meet the man she believes is the man of her dreams.” Pinky also recommends The Confessions of a Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella. She shares, “My favorite books are the light-hearted ones that can make me laugh, yet keep me so interested in the characters that I don’t want to put them down. Each book in this series is just that!” One more pick from Pinky is a stand alone book by Sophie Kinsella titled The Undomestic Goddess. Of the author, Pinky says, “I like just about everything she writes!”
  and gives this peek into the story, “A workaholic bails out on her job after she makes a huge mistake, and she accidently accepts a job as a housekeeper, although she doesn’t know what the heck she’s doing. Its not only funny, but there’s a cute romantic component as well”. I’ve read the Sophie Kinsella books Pinky recommends and I loved them too! I call them laugh out loud funny books.

Pinky’s shop has these really cute drink glass tags that are perfect for book club get togethers. I think the word “drink” could be changed to “book” on the tags and then you could have a matching set of drink tags and bookmarks for your book club! I bet if you ask Pinky she would be happy to do that for you.

Tam from Nesting Pretty says, “I adore books and I just happened to finish a great read by Stephen King called 1922. It is the first of four shorts in his newest book titled Full Dark, No Stars. I love a book that grabs your curiosity right from the first sentence and this one did that and more. It was a fast page turner. I could not put it down. If you love Stephen King or love to be on the edge of your seat with anticipation of what’s to come, then this is a read for you.”

Nesting Pretty has lots of fabulous hair pins but I’m thinking these pretties could do double duty as a bookmark!

This is just a few of the books recommended by the DTeam so stay tuned for more to come!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Soooo love this sharing of some great reads. Thank ya for including one of my picks. and my bobby pins.♥

    Like

    Reply
  2. LOVE that market bag!!Great post!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Awesome post! I love reading a book in the warm summer sun! If only the sun would realize that it's time to come out – we're still having winterish weather in Portland!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

