Ever Wonder How Customers Find Your Etsy Shop?

        By SassyBelleWaresThis morning I bought these fabulous notecards from one of my favorite Etsy shops, Flapper Doodle.

When I was going through the checkout process, I noticed something in the PayPal part that I had never seen before. There was a one question survey asking how I found Flapper Doodle. I always wonder how buyers have found my shop, SassyBelleWares, so I was almost as excited about this question as I was about my new notecards! Yeah, I know about Google Analytics but that makes my head spin so I was thrilled to find there was a simpler way to get an answer to, “How did you find my shop?”! Of course, getting an answer is dependent on the customer answering the question, but I figured it can’t hurt to try. 

This morning I bought these fabulous notecards from one of my favorite Etsy shops, Flapper Doodle.
So off to PayPal I went to figure out how I could get this question into my checkout process. I found the answer almost immediately and was shocked at how easy it was to implement the one question survey! I realized I couldn’t be the only one who did not know this was an option. After all, this was the first time I had seen it at checkout and I have done lots of shopping on Etsy! Thank you Eloise and Ramona for making me want to buy your notecards thus stumbling upon this helpful feature! In return I will share my discovery with everyone!The quick and easy steps to add the one question survey:

Handmade Spark has added screen shots of some of this process. Take a peek and then browse the rest of their site for some extremely helpful tips and awesome insight into running an Etsy shop.Hope this information is helpful to you!

1) Login to your PayPal account

2) Under “my account” click “profile”

3) Under “selling preferences” click “custom payment pages”, then click “options” and go to “merchant service options”

4) Check “add a customer service survey” and fill in the blanks*

5) Make sure you click “SAVE” before you exit

* I used “How did you find SassyBelleWares” for my question. I thought using my shop name rather than just “us” or “me” might help them remember my shop better for next time. You can ask any question you would like and add any answers for the customers to choose from. For the five answer choices, I used:

-friend/family
-google search
-repeat customer
-facebook
-Etsy

Once you have set up your survey question, cross your fingers and toes in hopes that your customer answers it! The first customer I had after I set up mine did answer…YAY!!!! Here are the steps to find the answers:

1) Login to your PayPal account

2) Under “my account” click “overview”

3) Locate the transaction you want to view and click “details”

4) You should now be on the “transaction details” page. Scroll toward the bottom of the page. If your customer answered, almost at the bottom underneath “payment type”, you will see “survey details”. There is your answer! If your customer did not answer, “survey details” will not be there but “payment type” will.

Handmade Spark has added screen shots of some of this process. Take a peek and then browse the rest of their site for some extremely helpful tips and awesome insight into running an Etsy shop.
Written originally for SassyBelleWare’s Blog. You can find more about SassyBelleWares on Etsy and Facebook.
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I tried doing this about a year ago and was not given this option. I think we talked about it at one time. I wondering if it's because I am not set up as a business acct????

    Like

    Reply
  2. That's a great question. I'll ask Sassy to confirm the answer before we all get confused. =)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Tam, I believe so…once you get a business account it should appear

    Like

    Reply
  4. Thanks for answering that, Captain Sassy!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thank you for this post! It was incredibly useful. I've been wanting to do something like that for a while now but had no idea what to do. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

